Garden Bloggers Bloom Day: February 2010

Technically, these aren’t true Bloom Day photos, because I took them on Saturday.  Saturday morning, all of Wilmington, NC woke to a snowfall that comes only once a decade in our little southern coastal metropolis.  And, as the ONE bloom that I planned to highlight in my bloom day photographs, come Monday, was hanging on, in the snow and ice, I went ahead and snapped away.  That flower’s still on the plant today, but it is much less interesting, hanging there in the mud, now that the snow is gone.

The snow was perfect for making snowmen.  The dusting we got last year didn’t even compare.  So, those who were brave enough to drive around on Saturday morning and afternoon, saw a snowman in every single yard, in front of every single business, and made with every single skill level and accessory.  The kids who made snowmen on Saturday might be married with their own children by the time we get another snow like this.

Lucy in the snow

Trees in the back yard

Our garden hose

The Front Garden

The Bloom in Bloom Day: a Camellia covered in ice and snow

Bloom Day is a virtual garden tour put together by Carol, over at May Dreams Gardens.  Check out her blog for other Garden Bloggers Bloom Day posts.

16 Comments

Filed under Daily Photo, Garden

16 responses to “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day: February 2010

  1. Beautiful snow photos. Love that bright flash of red. 33 days til spring! Happy GBBD.

  2. Hooray for the Camilla. She looks gorgeous even with her icy white coat on. The snow, now matter how much of a pain, must be a beautiful sight to behold if you don’t get to see it that often. I am just guessing. Looks like your dog like playing in it.

  3. What an interesting thought: that the kids who made snowmen could be adults before you have this kind of weather again. That really put all of this weather in perspective for this Northerner. And the snow and ice on that intensely colored flower is spectacular.

  4. We don’t get much snow in Oklahoma either, more than you do, but this year, we’ve gotten over 20 inches. Unbelievable really. I’m glad you’re enjoying yours. We are so over ours. 🙂 Bring on spring I say. Happy Bloom Day.~~Dee

  5. We are unlikely to get more like this, this winter. BUT never say never.

    I, and everyone else, enjoyed it while it was here. But, I’m sure I speak for everyone, too, when I say that I’m ok that it is melted!

  6. it’s beautiful and the camellia covered in snow sure is the avatar of the moment. We are getting more as I type this…hoping it will melt quickly…nashville is way tired of the too cold weather! Happy GBBD to you~ gail

  7. Lucy is adorable! I really enjoyed your snow pictures. We haven’t had any snow fall this year and that’s a little unusual for Seattle.

    Oh, and you know you can get the glass pond floats at the San Francisco Garden Show…

  8. Beautiful camellia and beautiful snow. But I am glad you got it and not me:) I am not a snow person – lol.

  9. I am so tired of snow…but I never tire of seeing the magical scenes it creates in photos like these. The camellia blossom peeking through is amazing. They’re not hardy in my zone 5b garden, but they certainly look cold-hardy here. This has been a strange winter, hasn’t it?

  10. How strange it must be for all you southerners to get snow. The camellia looks like it doesn’t mind at all. 🙂

  11. Nell Jean

    We had a swirl of snow that did not last, on Friday. The camellias seemed not to mind much, but they hated the plunge in temperature that followed later.

    Every February is different. This has been one of the most Fickle that I remember.

  12. gardenjunkie1

    Such pretty snow covering the trees. Hope it melts quickly so the garden can get back to blooming!

  13. @Rose I remember the very first time I ever saw a Camellia bloom. I was interviewing for the Longwood Graduate Program in February, 2001. In between our interviews and presentations, they let us roam the gardens.

    This was before the recent reconstruction of the East Conservatory. They had Camellias at one end, and they were blooming. I was by myself, and I think I literally lost my breath when I rounded the corner and saw my first bloom. I really did think “WHAT IS THAT? IT LOOKS LIKE A ROSE!”

    Then, I kind of forgot about them until I moved here, where Camellias are a traditional part of the (introduced) southern landscape. Now I am acquiring and planting them at a rate of about 6 or 8 a year! I don’t care if they are named. I don’t care if they are rare or common. They really are “roses in winter” and kind of miracle plants, to me.

  14. Les

    Yes, yes, yes the snow covered camellias are lovely, I took some shots of my own. But I am beyond ready to see them unadorned.

  15. lovely photography, and that red bloom at the end just pops out after all the black and white! great job. Jeannie

  16. Lucy must have been happy being out in the snow. I didn`t realise that you received as much snow as you did. The Camellia looks beautiful covered in a frosty blanket. Hope all is green now.

Leave a Reply

