Detox Soup

One of my friends just wrote on her facebook page that she needed to try one of my green smoothies for lunch after “The Weekend.”  *   No Joke.

Here’s another recipe that I love, and can now make again since I bought a new blender. We’re having it tonight!

Squash Soup

1 large butternut squash, peeled and cut up

2 tbsp fresh grated ginger or ginger paste

4 cups chicken broth (approx.)

You need enough chicken broth to cover the squash in the pot, no more.  Boil everything together until the squash is soft.  Then purree in the blender.  Eat!  The flavor gets even more gingery over a few days.  Good re-heated.  Hard to freeze, though.

 

*She was referring to Thanksgiving weekend.  However, this is great after vacation, holidays, any time when you’ve been eating a little too much of things that aren’t too healthy.

3 Comments

Filed under This and That

3 responses to “Detox Soup

  1. I love butternut soup. I make it all the time but I start it with sweating some onions and garlic before adding the butternut. I’ll definitely up the ginger next time for a detox. Great idea!

  2. Hey Stevie–I think I might try adding some onions tonight. Good idea!

    I don’t know if Ginger helps with the detox. It is just the healthiest soup I make Vegetable plus broth. Not a bunch of fatty crap!

  3. Kat

    Yummy. I love ginger and I have squash. I think this will be dinner tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

