The View from Here

I don’t write much on this blog.  Every now and then, I’ll schedule a bunch of daily photos.  I mostly write on other blogs.

I review books on Pomegranate’s blog here:  http://www.pombooks.net

I write about surfing here:  http://chicksonsticks.wordpress.com

I write about gardening here:  http://www.365daysofgrowingthings.com

I write about business here:  http://www.gardenwriterstoday.com

So, for semi-regular blogging, check out those sites.

Why I Don’t Blog Here

I don’t write much on this blog because I write all the time.  ALL. THE. TIME.  Writing is my job.  Gardening is also kind of my job.  I’ve figured out how to turn reading into a (fun) job. I write about surfing PURELY because I enjoy it.  I write about business on the GWT site because I have something to share with my fellow writers/photographers.  At least, until I run out of things to say.

I don’t blog for a personal audience, and writing for four other blogs, as well as other ghost blogs and writing projects, pretty much uses me up. I’ve found a way to be compensated for writing about everything like to do and write about doing.  Compensated by someone else.   That’s a good situation, yes?  I think so.

I’m Not My Own Brand

This is a bit of my Garden Writers presentation coming out.  I have a brand: The Garden of Words, LLC.  It is my business.  It isn’t Me.  And, I’m not my business.  Let’s pretend I am an attorney (like my Dad might have secretly wanted me to be because he’s one and then we could have practiced together but then I’d still be living in Indianapolis, would not have met my husband and wouldn’t be a surfer-but I digress), I work for a firm.  The firm is my business, but it isn’t Me.  At the end of the day, I’m representing my clients’ interests, not my interests.

It’s the same thing with The Garden of Words.  I represent my clients’ interests.  What I do isn’t about me.  It’s about them.

I don’t want to be the shining star.  I want them to be the shining star.  I want to work and surf. That’s all.

2 Comments

Filed under This and That

2 responses to “The View from Here

  1. Woo Hoo, thank you so much as I am not Moo Poo Tea…Moo Poo Tea is my green garden growers product not me : ) Your tops Garden of Words

    Tahnk you again
    Annie

  2. natalie

    Alright, alright, I get it. You are not your blog :) But so much of you comes through your writing. It reminds me of you and makes me smile!

Leave a Reply

